Year 5 blog

Life and learning

I love reading!

on April 23, 2014

Image

In year 5 we love to read!  Recently we have spent £10,000 on new books, so the library is full of all the latest titles. Can you recommend any books you think year 5 children would like to read?  Which is your favourite book? Can you explain why you like it? Leave your comments below…   Also read the comments and try to read one of the recommended books 🙂

Happy reading everyone.


13 Responses to “I love reading!”

  1. Holly says:

    The books that I would recommend are the series of books called Naughtiest Girl by Enid Blyton. I like this book because it’s a book that has a easier structure to read. I have now got the first one of the collection which is the Naughtiest Girl in the school and I have read up to chapter seven. I would recommend this collection of books to anybody because it’s not a difficult book to read ( structure wise).I would also recommend this book because once you start reading you can’t stop and you don’t want to put the book down.

  2. becca.j says:

    My favourite book ( so far) is called ‘ COOL ‘ ! It’s my favourite book because it is very emotional and really makes you feel the the the boy feels! It is about a boy who takes his dog, called lucky, runs across the road. Then the boy chases after him! Sudennly he fells a whole lot of pain and hears a VWOOSH noise.

    the boy is in a coma and he cannot see, move or talk. All he can do is hear. throughout the book it takes you through his thought and feelings.

    The book is written in first persion

  3. becca.j says:

    sorry person! I would recommend to 8 and above

  4. Phoebe says:

    I love to read ‘ school for good and evil’. It takes you on a magical journey in to lands that you could never imagine! You feel all emotions, like the two characters in which the story tells of. I have just found out there is a second!
    The story is about two schools which inhabit witches and warlocks, princes and princesses! One girl wants to go to one school, the other likes neither. They end up going to the wrong school, or do they?

  5. Victoria says:

    My favourite book is Hetty Feather by Jacqueline Wilson. It is about a girl who is abandoned as a baby, goes to a foster home, goes to find the circus. She also finds her mum. This book allows you to feel how the main character is feeling.

  6. Olivia says:

    I recommend a book called Queenie by Jaqueline Wilson. I think she is a brilliant author, who’s book are amazing but especially Queenie. The book is about a young girl called Elsie and her nan is sick. Elsie catches the illness off her nan and is sent 50 miles away to Mltree hospital. The boy in the next bed(Martin) is horrid but they are starting to become friends. I think this book is tearful and sad but one great book. Elsie, anyway, wants to go to the queens coronation but will her and her nan be out of the two hospitals before the Coronation or will they have to watch it from or together on a wireless T.V???

  7. katy says:

    My favourite book is captain underpants because it is about these 2 boys and a teacher and the teacher is always telling them of, but when ever they click there fingers he will always turn into captain underpants. They will go on crazy adventures and captain underpants is always saving them from the evil guy. This book is written in first person, as the two boys. I really recommend this to everyone because I know they will enjoy it as much as I do and it is for boys and girls.

  8. freya says:

    I loved to read the David wallims books and the naughtiest girl they are so funny. But they are also very powerful and descripted

  9. Asher says:

    I recommend a book called Dork Diaries by Rachel Renee Russell. There are a few different books to read including: Dork Diaries Holiday Heartbreak; Dork Diaries Party Time; Double Dork Diaries and many more! These books are about a girl called Nikki who has a little sister called Brianna, Nikki’s crush Brandon, her 2 bff’s Chloe and Zoey and also Nikki’s enemy Mackenzie.

    Although others may not agree I think these books are splendid. By the author using strong launguage like ‘massivly’ and also ‘Hideous’ these are quite strong pieces of launguage to use but I think she could have used stronger launguage!

  10. Kian.W says:

    If I could choose any types of books I would choose the Percy Jackson series as it is fun, adventurous and always makes you want to read on. So far I’m up to a part about the myth of the labyrinth where they need to go. I just can’t wait to read it again!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar