Year 5 blog

Life and learning

Do you think the Suffragettes were right?

on June 16, 2014

http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsround/22766676 

The Suffragettes campaigned for Women’s Rights in the early 1900s. Women at this time were oppressed, not being allowed to vote or have a job. To raise awareness of their cause, they committed many violent acts. Were they right to do this? What do you think?


2 Responses to “Do you think the Suffragettes were right?”

  1. Daisy says:

    I think they were right because the men were being sexist to women. I thing that is mean.

    • Sam Shepherd says:

      Should’ve replied earlier. Oh well. But for me it’s a straight 50-50. Yes of course I agree that women shouldn’t go around firing bombs and killing themselves just because they are different from men. They should have just been granted the rights to do what they like, have jobs (they were just house servants), and be able to vote. Recalling my SMSC lessons, I think this is sexist. But just because this is what I believe doesn’t mean it’s correct.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar