Year 5 blog

Life and learning

Homework 28.1.15

on January 29, 2015

 

HOMEWORK – Year 5 28.01.15

Spellings

rhythm   foreign  marvellous  prejudice      sincerely

Your 100 word challenge for this week is to write a newspaper report     about anything that interests you. It could be about extreme weather, a     crime, a strange and mysterious series of events or anything else that you     might read about in a newspaper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maths

Alongside the mental maths test, complete these multiplication questions to help you practise what we have been learning in class. Use the method we have been working on, and try to explain to your adult at home how you are calculating:

  1.  34 x 5 =                2.  67 x 8 =             3. 68 x 4 =

4.   342 x 6 =               5. 256 x 3 =            6. 455 x 4=

7.   35 x 10 =               8. 41 x 12 =            9. 561 x 34 =

Remember to estimate before you calculate!

Literacy

Learning objective:

To be able to use full speech punctuation

 

At home, interview somebody about an incident that was funny or embarrassing for them- eg a time when mum realised she had left her slippers on when she went out, or when Gran accidently hugged a stranger when she thought she was hugging you!

Ask questions to discover who, what, where when and why then write this up as direct speech.

 

Example:

Question: What was the most embarrassing thing that happened to you?

Mum: Errr, I went to Asda and when I looked at my feet I realised I had my slippers on!

Question: When did this happen?

Mum: About 5 years ago, quite late at night. Maybe about ten o clock.

Question: Why did you go out in slippers?

Mum: Well it was an accident! But I was rushing about so much trying that I just forgot to change in to my shoes.

 

Then turn this into direct speech as follows:

 

The interviewer asked mum “ What was the most embarrassing thing that happened to you?”

“Erm,” mum mumbled, looking down and blushing, “I went to Asda and when I looked at my feet I realised I had my slippers on!”

“When did this happen?” the interviewer questioned.

“About 5 years ago, quite late at night,” she looked away, thinking. “Maybe about ten o clock.”


2 Responses to “Homework 28.1.15”

  1. Florence says:

    I interviewed my mum she said when she was little she went down a lane to get home, it was the only way, there was a dog ( my mum hated dogs) so she just screamed till they removed it.

    • Carys says:

      I think I interveiwedmy nan. She was rushing down the street taking my mum to school (she was VERY late for school!,) and as it was frosty, she fell into a shopping trolley!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar